need advice

Post all fishing related questions here such as tackles, fishing techniques, rigs, fish ID, etc. All the technical stuff about fishing.

Moderator: Handlinefishing

teamilk
Line Untangling
Line Untangling
Fishing interest: All types of fishing, Prawning

need advice

Post by teamilk »

hello all fishing pros.......

im relatively new to fishing...only done pond fishing...and trying out some of those "illegal" spots and some reservoirs.
i would like to ask...
1) my setup is shimano basstera ex 5ft6 rod, with a brandless reel, 9+1 bearings, 3000 i think. line poundage is 20lbs.
with this setup, is it suitable to go pasir ris park (cast from bridge so beneath is not really shallow waters) or punggol end to fish?
2) at either locations, is it advisable to go at night? from about 12am till about 5am
3) intending to use live/dead prawns and milk fish. good?
i used to frequent pasir ris paypond, and neu tiew crescent. but getting expensive. so im sourcing for free fishing areas.
also, used to have a fishing kaki to go with, but he went USA for work...for 3 months. therefore as a newbie, i didnt want to venture out alone. but the withdrawal symptoms are kicking in...so i think i decided to just try it out. LOL
I'm not really looking into catching big big fishes to bring home and cook (unless i go pay pond), just like the fight with the fish.

i'll greatly appreciate all the kind advice. thanks all!

btw, im intending to go tonight (no work tomorrow..hehe), so if any bros/sis (preferred..LOL, joking) wanna join, please feel free to leave me PM. thanks!!!

Peace
Site Editor
Site Editor
Fishing interest: Handline fishing

Re: need advice

Post by Peace »

Hi teamilk, welcome to HLF. :)

1) Your current setup is definitely sufficient for the place you mentioned unless you're specifically targeting for huge stingrays.