all about tambans

Post all fishing related questions here such as tackles, fishing techniques, rigs, fish ID, etc. All the technical stuff about fishing.

Moderator: Handlinefishing

joshua
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie

all about tambans

Post by joshua »

hi all, im new to fishing and recently have been trying to catch tambans at BJT. would appreciate if could get some advice and tips for catching tambans.

1) are tamban seasonal or premanent fishes ?.
2) is high or low tide better for catching tamban

and any other tips that you can provide . :) :) :)

thank you ;)

Peace
Site Editor
Site Editor
Fishing interest: Handline fishing

Re: all about tambans

Post by Peace »

BJT has tambans all year round but from what I observe they are somewhat seasonal as with scads. They tend to have more during the monsoon season. The tambans are always around the vicinity of the jetty during the day, but they don't always go into feeding frenzy. You can see them swimming really close to the jetty but they just won't bite your tamban jigs. They seem more active during the morning and evening times, high or low tide does really matter but the current must be flowing.

Maybe you can elaborate on how you go about catching the tambans. Are people getting tambans except you? Are you using the tamban jigs bought from the jetty?

Welcome to HLF, joshua. :)

poptiger
Line Untangling
Line Untangling
Fishing interest: lure fishing,surf fishing,handline fishing

Post by poptiger »

i recommend changing all the hook to triple hook then pull through the fish group

joshua
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie

Post by joshua »

hi guys,
thanks for all your replies,

i have actually bought a few from a tackle shop , they dont have a brand though.

i was actually thinking of going this wed 26th oct 2011 at 6am to about 9 am because if my understanding of the tides is correct, its the moon perigee and i think there is a spring tide. so im guessing that the current would be the strongest ?

please advice