Closed Face Reels

Post all fishing related questions here such as tackles, fishing techniques, rigs, fish ID, etc. All the technical stuff about fishing.

Moderator: Handlinefishing

abk
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie
Fishing interest: beginner in fishing

Closed Face Reels

Post by abk »

I am new in fishing and i have tried using spinning reels.Still find it hard to master it.I was told to try out
closed face reels.they say it is for beginners.The problem is i cannot find a shop in Singapore who sells that reels.
I have surfed the net and i like some of the closed face reels,but i don't know how to buy them and ship it here.
If somebody could tell me what is the address to go to on the net to purchase the reel and the mode of payment,it will
help me greatly.Thanks.

Peace
Site Editor
Site Editor
Fishing interest: Handline fishing

Re: Closed Face Reels

Post by Peace »

The reel you mentioned should be a spincast reel, it's not the most popular type of reel these days. I've never used one before but i suppose the cover aids the line to pay out smoothly. I believe it comes with its own set of inconvenience as well. May be you can elaborate on your difficulties in using a spinning reel and we can guide you accordingly.

abk
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie

Post by abk »

I always forget to flip the bail open on a spinning reel to cast out and forget to close the bail to coil up.
If this was a closed face reel all this problems will be overcomed,with a depress button when casting out.
If you know of an address on the net where this kind of reel can be bought will be good.

deathrow
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie

Post by deathrow »

Have you try asking the shop in changi?? they having a discount right now i just bout my daiwa 3500 there

abk
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie

Post by abk »

Tried every tackle shop and they don't have the closed face reel.
Anglers here will have bought reels on the net.Please tell me the address on the net and how
do you pay for the reel.

Newguy