Help on offshore

Catches from out the sea like boat fishing, kayaks and kelongs.

Moderator: Handlinefishing

lanlibra
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie
Fishing interest: offshore and beach fishing.saltwater

Help on offshore

Post by lanlibra »

i am currently studying wat is best for a fishing trip offshore.so every trip i would make a mark on the calendar and tides follows.which is the lunar calendar.recently,i fished ard southern island on the 16th Jan night and its during new moon on 2nd lunar calendar.tide is high,current is super strong even size 16 sinker fly and less bite.if i would go on 28th feb day which is 15th of lunar calendar,wat will it be like?will it be the same?please advise.

Peace
Site Editor
Site Editor
Fishing interest: Handline fishing

Re: Help on offshore

Post by Peace »

Hi lanlibra, welcome to HLF. There's a thread related to your question that you may want to read first. Basically, you need to understand the correlation between moonphase and tide. To reiterate from the previous thread, new moon and full moon will have fastest current. Because lunar calendar is based on moonphase, new moon and full moon roughly falls on the 1st and 15th on the lunar calendar every month.

There are fishes on new and full moon, it's just that the current speed makes it difficult for anglers to fish effectively. Also, we don't want to fish when the current is dead slow. To play it safe, you can choose dates whereby the current speed is just starting to pick up. You can study closely at a tidetable of a particular month to note tide pattern to determine which day is suitable for your fishing.

Take this particular tide of a day for instance.
0011 2.9m
0505 1.7m
1046 3.2m
1728 0.2m