What is handlining, and the basics?

For anglers who handles the fishing lines with bare hands.

Moderator: Handlinefishing

doobieb
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie

What is handlining, and the basics?

Post by doobieb »

Hi I’m a bit of a newbie at fishing in general, the last time I fished with a rod was about 8 years ago (with parents before left home) and (I’m now 18). I didn’t know about handlining till last summer when I went to some Greek islands where I saw some people fishing with lures of which they swung around (like a lasso) and cast out a good 30 metres from a handreel, is this handlining?
I promptly bought one of which is a plastic version of the picture on the front page of this site, but with one side with a shallower angle as to reduce casting resistance and a handle from one side to the other, I tested the line with a very bad knot and found out that it was 10Kg, is this to thick for this country (U.K.) as I have not had much success in this country? Does 8 inches of wire and a beefy swivel at the end have a detrimental effect because without I lost fish in Greece before i added this?
What sort of lure is good for a silty English estuary (clear water)?
For bait fishing what size hook, type of bait, and should I ledger or float fish? What lengths man and size of line should I be using between tackle?
Reason why I use a landline now that I'm home, is that it fits in my bag (or saddlebag :thumbsup: ) (I keep my tackle in a tobacco tin with what does not fit strapped on with an elastic band)so I can bike :) :D :cool: :p a to the estuary, and because any plonker can pick up a rod and cast straight of, where’s the challenge. And using a rod you don't get the feel of line, and pulling directly against the fish. Also some fish sit and wait for fish to come past (is this true or just rumers that seem to make sense), handlines give you freedom to move.