Fishing Line - lbs

Post all fishing related questions here such as tackles, fishing techniques, rigs, fish ID, etc. All the technical stuff about fishing.

Moderator: Handlinefishing

Foli
Lucky Newbie
Lucky Newbie
Fishing interest: Lure Fishing, Surf Fishing, Pay Pond Fishing.

Fishing Line - lbs

Post by Foli »

Hello Fishing Kakis,

It been a while I have asked question in this forum.

I would like to check the Ibs size / yards of the fishing line to be used to land fishes in Bedok Jetty (GT, Queenfish, Chermin etcc..)

Should I be using a 30lbs / 300 Yard line or 50 ibs 150 Yard line (braided - power pro line)

As I’m still an beginner, I got different options from people - some said 30lbs is good enough so said better get 50 to 60lbzs.

So I checking with the Lao Jiao here to see what advise you can give me :)

Peace
Site Editor
Site Editor
Fishing interest: Handline fishing

Re: Fishing Line - lbs

Post by Peace »

Hi Foli, there are few things to consider here.
1. You want to make sure the line you're using match your rod rating to prevent the rod from overloading.

2. Consider the reel's line capacity; having enough line/line to the brim helps you cast further(especially for spinning reels). Loading heavier lines although usually strong, will create a lot of drag against wind and water. This will affect the flexibility of your fishing.

3. Minimum line strength. Fishing from Jetty can often be a challenge when fighting fish with other anglers' line close by. Going too light on the line or drag and you lose control to larger fish, resulting crossing lines and fish dashing below the jetty, etc. You may need to lift the fish out of water if there's no one with net/gaff to help you land the fish, the alternative is to drag the fish to the beach if it's too heavy(long way!)